Turns out this is a bad week for SF fans. I owe a lot of my current fascination with space opera to Iain (M) Banks, and so the news of his condition was like a knife twisting in my gut. I’m glad he still has things to look forward to with his marriage and honeymoon, but he deserves much better.

At the time I had started reading Consider Phlebas, his first Culture novel, I hadn’t read SF for about six years, and actually reading very little. I was also separated from my wife at that time and generally in a demented mental state. Tough times. I took a chance on Consider Phlebas after seeing it many times at Bakka Books, seduced by its cover and the staff’s recommendations. The opening quotes and the first three pages hooked me as few novels do, and the rest of its pages jacked open my skull and dominated my brain for years to come.  The man is a living mountain of SFA few years later, I realized that he was the forefront of “the New Space Opera” and I feel he still is.

He is a blessing to science fiction, tearing down what was once a dismissed artform and reinvigorating it to such a degree that its audience has grown widespread and most importantly, the genre respected again.  Iain brought us hard science, compelling ideas, stunning creativity and scoops of the irreverence and thought provoking themes that make his work so damn likable and hard to put aside.

I tip my hat to his creative soul and wish him all the best in the face of this disturbing news.

Deepest regards,

–Ken

 

To Iain,

Thanks for creating something that turned my life around, and gave me something precious: a new horizon to explore.

— Ken